Santhome Region

Tamil Nadu Mission was declared as a Region by Rev.Mother Smitha, the superior General on April 16th 2010 at the occasion when all the Kerala Provinces celebrated the silver Jubilee of the Province at Generalate. The inauguration of the Region was done on September 8th 2010 at Permabur convent, the Regional House of the Mission and named as Santhome Region. Msgr.Rev.Fr.Jose Palatty, the Vicar General of the Syro Malabar Mission, Chennai, Rev.Mother Blessia, the Provincial of St.Joseph Province, Sr.Linet , the General Social apostolate councillor,& Sr.Lea , the General Auditor , Sr.Poulin Therese, Provincial Social Apostlolate councillor & Incharge councillor for TamilNadu were present for the Inaugural function. Sr.Rose Vadakkethakidiyel was appointed as the first Regional Superior and Sr.Pushpa and Sr.Greeta as councillors. When the Region was erected 14 sisters had opted for the Region permanently and 17 sisters for five years. In 2012 Sr.Poulin Therese Pemala was appointed as Regional Superior , Sr.Mercitta and Sr.Ajaya as councillors. One more option was given to the sister by the Province and 17 members permanently opted and 14 for six years. Three novices from Tamil Nadu have made their First profession and has 33 members at present in the Region. There are 11 houses under this Region in.