History of the Province

SD St.Joseph Province was formally erected on June 27, 1985 in Changanasserry. We are happy to remember the Servant of God Mar Mathew Kavukatt, with whose paternal care and blessing we could establish our first convent in the Archdiocese of Changanacherry in Trivandrum in 1971. We are also grateful to late Mar Antony Cardinal Padiyara who took interest and initiative to begin Mercy Home at Chethipuzha for the Physically Challenged Children. Kripadham Province spread out in Chanda and Adilabad Dioceses is the daughter Province of SD St.Joseph Province ,which took birth in 2000. The houses of St.Joseph Provinces in Tamilnadu are formed into Santhome Mission Region in 2011with its Regional house at Perambur. This Province set up one house in Belthangady in Karnataka State. At present St.Joseph Province has 273 professed sisters in 38 houses in the following dioceses. Changanacherry (12) ,Pala (6),Kanjirappally (7), Thuckalay(2), Ootty (3), Velloore (3) Madras - Mylapore (2), Belthangadi (1), Chingalpet (1), Dharmapuri (1).